International Sculpture Center
Facebook Twitter Instagram

Sculpture cover

Complete text in print version available at fine newsstands and through subscription.
Please visit our Membership page for more information.

<Back to Contents page>

2008 Outstanding Student Achievement
In Contemporary Sculpture

Justin Colt Beckman
Bernadette Birzer
Daniel A. Bruce
Samantha Doan
Peter Goff
Jorda Griska
Dennis Harper
Benjamin Hunt
Myeongbeom Kim
Chika Matsuda
Kimberly Walker
Shai Zurim

The International Sculpture Center is proud to present the winners of the 2008 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award. This year’s program attracted a record number of nominees from university sculpture programs in North America and abroad. From a pool of 401 nominees from 162 schools, the jury selected 12 winners and 9 honorable mentions. Jurors for the program were Mary Ceruti, director of the SculptureCenter, Long Island City, New York; Dennis Oppenheim, sculptor, New York; and Robert Roesch, chair of sculpture at the Academy of Fine Art, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. This annual award was founded in 1994 to recognize young sculptors and encourage their continued commitment to the field of sculpture, as well as to recognize the award winners’ faculty sponsors and their institutions. The 12 award recipients will participate in Grounds For Sculpture’s Fall/Winter Exhibition, in Hamilton, New Jersey, from October 11, 2008 through April 26, 2009.


Justin Colt Beckman, Homestead, 2007.
Mixed media, dimensions variable.

<Back to Contents page>

Sculpture Magazine Archives

Sculpture Magazine
1633 Connecticut Ave. NW
4th Floor
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: 202.234.0555
Fax: 202.234.2663