International Sculpture Center
Facebook Twitter Instagram

Sculpture cover


Oct 2011
Vol.30 No. 8

A publication of the
International Sculpture Center
From the Chairman

This month we recognize those students who have achieved success through the ISCís 2011 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Awards. This competition showcases the best examples of contemporary sculpture from students throughout the world, demonstrating the high level of quality that they have already attained.

The ISC established the Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Awards in 1994 to recognize deserving students and to encourage their continued commitment to the field of sculpture. In October, 15 winners, selected from more than 485 faculty-sponsored nominees, will be honored at Grounds For Sculpture in Hamilton, New Jersey. The program is organized by the ISC and sponsored in part by Gertrud and Heinz Aeschlimann, Grounds For Sculpture, Johnson Art and Education Foundation, and the Jon and Mary Shirley Foundation.

I would like to offer special thanks to our 2011 jurors: Brooke Kamin Rapaport, independent curator and writer; DeWitt Godfrey, sculptor and director of the Institute for Creative and Performing Arts at Colgate University; and Jon Lash, sculptor, master of lost wax casting, and director of the Digital Atelier. Their contributions are greatly appreciated.

Again this year, one of the winners will be selected for the ISCís Swiss residency and scholarship. This opportunity is made possible through the generous support of sculptor Heinz Aeschlimann and arts advocate, collector, and patron Gertrud Aeschlimann. Through the years, this residency program has provided emerging sculptors with unique opportunities to learn and enrich their talents in a supportive setting.

The Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Awards and the Swiss residency build on the core principles of the ISC, underscoring our strong belief in the recognition and advancement of excellence in sculpture. We congratulate all of the winners for their outstanding achievements.

—Marc LeBaron
Chairman, ISC Board of Trustees

Complete text in print version available at fine newsstands and through subscription. Please visit our Membership page for more information.

Click here for Sculpture magazine ARCHIVES
To advertise in Sculpture magazine, call 718.812.8826 or e-mail

Click here to sign up for a digital subscription ($60) to Sculpture